BrothersOfBushcraft
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
BrothersOfBushcraft

This Forum is made for those who are interested in the project titled "The Brothers of Bushcraft". The Project is an ongoing program from men whose backgrounds cover much of North America, and beyond.

You are not connected. Please login or register

Pyro tools

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Pyro tools Empty Pyro tools Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:12 am

PalmettoArcher

PalmettoArcher
Green Horn

Even though I am relatively new to bushcraft, I have already amassed a variety of fire starting tools. I have practiced extensively with flint and steel and the making of my own charcloth using denim from old jeans. Leaning how to make the birds nest from jute twine was the most challenging part of using the flint and steel. I have heard of others having a hard time initiating the spark to charcloth, but such has not been my experience.

The second method I learned was the use of a firesteel. I purchase a used Gerber strike force firesteel from a neighbor. I experimented for weeks on end with different types of tinder rangind from cedar bark, jute, dryer lint, fatwood, cattails, and the list goes on. I finally decided that cotton balls with a light application of mineral oil would be the mainstay of my kit. I can use the oil to put on my skin, coat my carbon steel knife blades after use, and put them back in the small ziplock back and use them as tinder when need arises. A mineral-oiled cottonball will burn 3 to 5 minutes depending on size and the amount of oil remanining in the cottonball when spark is initiated. If my kindling is dry I will shred only use a small amount off the cottonball to start my fire, effectively rationing according to conditions/need.